You Beauty Advent Calendar Unboxing: days 5 – 10

Well, lack of internet put paid to my regular unboxing posts, but don’t worry I’m back!

I’ve been really enjoying opening my Advent Calendar and using some new beauty products.

Day 5 – ESPA Overnight Hydration Mask

15577665_10154127345136961_1160278528_n-1

A perfect product for me, a mask you leave on overnight – so much easier than trying to find 10 minutes to apply, wait and wash off a mask, particularly with franglaisbaby around. I’ve tried this out a couple of times and it leaves my skin wonderfully hydrated in the morning. This also came with a £15 ESPA voucher – this won’t buy you much on their website but does mean I could try out a couple of products at a lower price.

Day 6 – The Organic Pharmacy Hand Cream

15555011_10154127345156961_561472232_n

This lovely hand cream, with Marigold and Comfrey, smells quite citrusy, which I love. A little goes a long way, so this is a great handbag sized product.

Days 7-9 – Nails!!

The products on days 7, 8 and 9 make a great little set. A Margaret Dabbs nail file, a red Rimmel nail polish, and some Leighton Denny Miracle Mist for quick drying nails.

15555903_10154132985491961_1882164748_n

I was excited to try these out, so I carefully filed my (pretty rubbish) nails, applied a coat of nail polish, and waited 60 seconds before using the Miracle Mist. The polish went on well; it has a lovely wide brush for smooth application. As it’s a quick dry polish, it wasn’t very forgiving for touch ups. The red colour was fine, but why is it always red?! I would have preferred a pastel colour or a coral.

The Miracle Mist was the product I was most excited to try as I rarely paint my nails now, as inevitably franglaisbaby needs me before my nails are dry. However I was really disappointed. Despite using the spray exactly as per the directions, my nails were still very tacky, definitely not touch dry, and took around 10 minutes to fully dry. Given that the polish was 60 second polish to begin with, this was quite disappointing. The one good thing was that the spray gave the nails a lovely smooth finish.

Day 10 – Oskia Face Mask

15570943_10154127345406961_189910756_n

Another face mask to finish off this post! I’ve not tried it out yet, but this Oskia London Renaissance Mask smells amazing, of rose and geranium.

 

Leave a Reply

